Random Thoughts Thursday

It’s been a while since I had a random thought post. I will be traveling through three airports today, I think it’s a good day for another one.

I must have mistakenly woken up in the middle of the night and taken my Adderall. I am wide awake, my pill is missing from the nightstand, and it’s just 4:30 in the morning.

While I have been on this work trip, I received a happy birthday text from the vet. My Bear-Bear is four years old now. It made me think. My cats are four, three, two, and one. They will most likely all grow old together and I may lose them all in a relatively short amount of time. That makes me sad.

That thought occurred to me about my house and it’s needs too. It has been re-roofed, the fence was rebuilt, the inside & outside have been painted, the appliances have all been changed, and it all happened within the same six months. I fear that I will have a really expensive time coming up in the next fifteen years when things start to break down. Dang, I could lose my cats and my appliances in the same year; that would be really sad and expensive.

I know two relatively healthy people who have fallen while alone in their homes and died. There really is a reason for those “help I’ve fallen and can’t get up” emergency alert necklaces. I don’t carry my phone around the house with me, what if I can’t get to it in an emergency? Well, I have the Apple Watch so I guess I can send a message from that. Come to think of it, my mom does too. That makes me feel better about her living alone at her age. I’m sure one of her neighbor friends would call me if they hadn’t seeen or heard from her in a day or two. Not that that’s reassuring but it’s something. I do get the frantic text occasionally from my mom’s sister who lives on the opposite end of the country when she hasn’t heard from my mom in a while. Of course I go into panic mode until my mom finally answers her phone. So far the reason she has been out of touch has always been because she didn’t hear her phone going off. At least now that she has the watch she can tell when she gets a call or text message.

I’m not the only moron up at 4 AM today. I just had a nice chat with a guy downstairs while getting coffee. He’s taking his wife to Hawaii, renting a car, and staying beachside all on frequent traveling points for all three. My flight was so cheap I didn’t get my flying miles. The hotel reservations were made by my boss so again I didn’t get the points. They didn’t rent me a car because a co-worker drove in from the next state over. She has to cart me around to save the company money. I’m glad she’s okay with that arrangement, she wasn’t aware of it until we got here. Luckily, she is very sweet and doesn’t mind.

Maybe I will Uber into the office instead of waiting for my co-worker. If I get my meeting with my boss over with I might be able to leave earlier than 7 this evening. My flight lands in Hometown at midnight. That would put me back at my front door at one in the morning.

My dad left my mom over twenty years ago. It was not a pleasant time in my life. I sided with my mom but I was in college so I still had to rely on my dad for tuition and allowance to pay my bills. Sibling thought it would be a nice idea to have a quilt made with pictures from our childhood and our kids’ childhoods. Sibling actually asked my mom to make this quilt. Mom was quite pissed off about that. I’m glad she finally said no after thinking about it for a while. Of course she cares that Dad is sick, but she doesn’t feel like she owes him anything. He’s the one who left.

I can’t believe there are still 800 number psychics around. Who calls them? Actually, I can answer that. Houseguest’s cousin is with a terrible man and planning on marrying him because her psychic said he was the one. You can’t argue with stupid.

This airport is really loud. Aren’t people normally quiet in public spaces. There aren’t even kids around, it’s all adults just being loud. They are all talking on their phones. What on earth can they be talking about for so long? Last night a chick was sitting outside the hotel on her phone and talking for well over two hours. I can’t even imagine it. 

I almost missed my flight. I was watching the arrivals board. Why is there an arrivals board past security? Those who are arriving know what time it is and no one without a boarding pass is allowed past security. Stupid airport design.

At least the plane isn’t one of the ERJ’s I hate those.

On my way to Atlanta finally. It’s been a long day. I have an hour and a half layover before I continue home.

I have almost two hours before my flight. Let’s see what kind of people we see at ATL:

  • Large man with a tiny pink suitcase
  • Granola boy using a reuseable grocery bag as carry-on
  • Yoga pants, yoga pants, yoga pants…
  • Hipster doofus in the ugliest shirt I have ever seen, I’m sure he’s being ironic
  • Lot’s of people running, no wonder the airport is the number one place for heart attacks
  • Tattooed man with a purple suitcase
  • What’s with all the beards anyway?
  • Woman with her butt-length hair in a scrunchie and a reusable grocery bag as carry-on, looks like she’s in a cult

Delta has the exact same canned music for all of their flights as they board and deplane. Same songs, same order. Haven’t heard this song in ages now I’ve heard it seven times in the last three days.

Crap, full flight. These seats are incredibly small. My late husband would not have fit in these seats, legs too long.

I love men who travel in ties or with a sportscoat, so classy.

Doors are closing. Ta ta.

Leave a Reply

